What's new with Team TTO

July 07, 2020

A sports-base approach is needed to help the youth

Last week, Trinidad and Tobago faced its own Black Lives Matter (BLM) day of reckoning.…
July 07, 2020

CANOC President calls for IOC to rescind life bans issued to athletes 48 years after…

Caribbean National Olympic Committees (CANOC) President Brian Lewis has called for the International Olympic Committee…
July 04, 2020

Matthews and Collett Banned From Olympics

MUNICH, West Germany, Sept. 8 — The International Olympic Committee barred today two United States…
July 04, 2020

Vincent Matthews and Wayne Collett: A Most Casual Protest With Most Striking Consequences

They stood there casually, one barefoot, hands on hips, the other in thoughtful repose, right…
July 04, 2020

Athletes Will Be Banned From Protesting at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. But the Games Have…

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) announced new guidelines on Thursday that ban athletes from making…
July 04, 2020


The IOC stands for non-discrimination as one of the founding pillars of the Olympic Movement,…
July 01, 2020

Lewis highlights racial discrimination and gender inequality in sports

"Olympic Order is the Olympic Movement highest award for distinguished contributions to sports. The list…

Tokyo 2021 #1YearToGo

Logo TOKYO 2020 International Olympic Committee
Logo Omega Offical Timekeeper

Cartan Global | Tokyo 2021

Welcome to the Olympic Channel Live

Team TTO on Facebook

Team TTO on Twitter

Check out 🥊Becoming A Boxer🥊 with coach Reynold Cox 😎 TeamTTO Boxing athlete sport Move Learn Discover… https://t.co/TXu62uvVby
About 5 hours ago
Fists of Freedom https://t.co/5rcGqJr3dD
About 9 hours ago
TeamTTO Transformational Leadership Webinar Pt. 1 with TTOC & CANOC President Brian Lewis: https://t.co/ZSdK822nwr https://t.co/uYgmC7UqvG
About 9 hours ago
RT @igcanoc: CANOC is a NGO comprising 29 National Olympic Committees, Commonwealth Games Associations and governing bodies of National Sp…
About 10 hours ago

TeamTTO on Instagram



ALISTAIR ESPINOZA and Avril Marcelle claimed the respective Senior Male and Female Player of the Year accolades on Saturday evening, as the Trinidad and Tobago Badminton Association (TTBA) held their second annual awards function at the Central Regional Indoor Sports Arena, Saith Park, Chaguanas on Saturday evening.

Espinoza got the nod, ahead of Nicholas Bonkowski, Rahul Rampersad, Will Lee, Jason Ramjass and Justin Sui.

During the 2015 season, he claimed four local titles, in addition to a runner-up and thirdplaced finish. He also secured one regional bronze medal and two international bronze medals.

Marcelle was adjudged the top female player based on her accomplishments this year — two silver medals and three bronze medals at local tournaments, as well as one regional bronze medal, one silver international medal and two bronze international medals.

Also in the reckoning for the top female player (senior) were Solangel Guzman, Jada Renales, Leanna Castanada and Kamasha Robertson.

As far as the Junior Male and Female Players of the Year were concerned, Lee and Renales walked away with the respective prizes.

Lee, who overcame the challenges of Jerome Charles, Renaldo Sinanan, Vnace Juteram, Travis Sinanan and Leon Cassie, claimed seven local titles (as well as two silver and one bronze) and, at the international level, one silver and one bronze medal.

Renales had a haul of nine local titles, a silver and a bronze medal while, at the regional scene, she got a silver and three bronze medals. Other candidates for the top junior female player were Ananda Ramsingh, Sonja Cassie and Chequeda De Boulet.

The Newsday newspaper earned a special recognition for supporting the Badminton Association during the year - both financially and in terms of coverage during the inaugural Trinidad and Tobago International Tournament, which was staged at the Eastern Regional Indoor Sports Arena in Tacarigua.

Other Awards Most Outstanding Players - Travis Sinanan (Under-11 Male), Sonja Cassie (Under-11 Female), Zion St Rose (Under- 13 Male), Sonja Cassie (Under-13 Female), Leon Cassie (Under-15 Male), Chequeda De Boulet (Under-15 Female), Renaldo Sinanan (Under-17 Male), Ananda Ramsingh (Under-17 Female).

Most Improved Male - Vance Juteram Most Improved Female - Chequeda De Boulet Most Local Wins (Male) - Will Lee Most Local Wins (Female) - Jada Renales